Fat and Sassy

my views on being larger than life.

Love handles:fat in pop culture. February 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — erylin @ 12:49 pm

I listen to all sorts of music, jam bands being a big part of that (think grateful dead, phish ect.) I always loved this song by Keller Williams (its called love handles) IT was the first time i had ever heard about MY body shape being complimented, sang about, and well loved. NOw, 3 years later, after a divorce (Love Handles we me and my ex’s “song”), discovering FA and taking steps toward recovery, I find myself wondering if it really DOES pain fat people in such a good light after all….At the very least, Keller (who is chunky himself) doesn’t seem to know the real facts on weight loss. Please don’t get me wrong…….I LOVE Keller Williams…..he’s very talented, a great songwriter, and uses looping to achieve by himself what it takes a whole band to do normally. But I just can’t decide if I should be bothered by this whole thing. what do you think? Most of it feels like its sort of about accepting yourself, but I  get bothered by the line ” It comes in different shapes and sizes; Lack of willpower, compromises;  Lack of excercises;  I’m packing the love.”   For lots (most i’d venture to say) of us it’s NOT about lack of willpower or lack of exercising.   The rest of the song i like.   Either way, i think songs like this that celebrate (or at least mention) different shapes are a step in the right direction.   what do you think?  Is it a love song accepting yourself as fat, or is it sort of poking fun about it? 

I’m packing the love
I’ve got it hanging off of me
It comes from above
I keep it down inside of me

It comes in different shapes and sizes
Lack of willpower, compromises
Lack of excercises
I’m packing the love

So if you need a hand hold
Baby you can take hold
Of my love handles
If you need to get your love on
Baby you can grab on
To my love handles
My love handles

I’m packing the love
I don’t think its a bad thing
It keeps me warm in the winter
It makes me sweat in the spring
It’s a double chin love
I have grown to accept it
I love the sweet taste of sweet tasting love
It’s so easy to digest it

So if you need a hand hold
Baby you can take hold
Of my love handles
My love handles
If you need to get your love on
Baby you can grab on
To my love handles
My love handles

Well the man on the TV tells me
I’ve got so much love I can stand to lose some
So I changed the channel
How could I survive without the sweet taste
Of sweet tasting love
Up the river without a paddle

I’m packing the love
I got enough to go around
I’ve got so much in the country
I don’t ever have to go to town

It comes in different shapes and sizes
Lack of willpower compromises
Lack of excersizes
I’m packing the love

So if you need a hand hold
Baby you can take hold
Of my love handles
My love handles

If you need to get your love on
Baby you can grab on
To my love handles
My love handles
More of me to love

“I’m packing the love.

 

Leave a Reply

