Fat and Sassy

my views on being larger than life.

PCOS heavily misdiagnosed February 4, 2010

Filed under: health — erylin @ 12:03 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I really don’t think this article (found HERE http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/178054.php)  needs any snark or explination…i will just include some relevant quotes…..

“Women are told they are too fat and aren’t taken seriously for a long time,” said Andrea Dunaif, M.D., the Charles F. Kettering Professor of Medicine at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine and a physician at Northwestern Memorial Hospital. “They go to an average of four doctors before they are diagnosed. They have been to physicians who say ‘there is nothing wrong with you, don’t worry’.”

“Before she received the news about PCOS, Donnelly, an ordinarily happy person, had sunk into a deep depression and her boyfriend accused her of letting herself go.   Dunaif, a national expert, knows otherwise. The complex genetic disease has long-term health risks throughout a woman’s lifespan, including obesity and double the rate of metabolic syndrome, a constellation of risk factors for diabetes and heart disease.”

“Symptoms of PCOS in women often show up in adolescence and may include irregular periods and excess hair on the face, chest or back – all caused by high levels of male hormones.”

“After Dunaif began treating Donnelly with medication for insulin resistance – which had caused her rapid weight gain — Donnelly’s excess pounds dropped off and she was able to become pregnant. “If I had known about this sooner, my life would have been entirely different,” Donnelly said.”

 

2 Responses to “PCOS heavily misdiagnosed”

  1. Bianca Says:

    I saw three doctors before I was disgnosed, but even then that doctor didn’t know how to treat me properly. It took a new job with different insurance to take me to someone who knew what they were doing.

  2. Mulberry Says:

    I was correctly diagnosed with this way back in the early 1970s. However, there weren’t really effective treatments for it until at least a decade later. Having PCOS didn’t stop doctors from telling me I was too fat, and classmates from telling me I was too hairy.
    I had tried to read up on PCOS, but all I had found out about it was that it caused infertility. Since I didn’t want to have children, I did not have it treated aggressively for a long long while.


Leave a Reply

